Indianapolis 500 Practice Report

5/10/2005 11:27:38 PM

Circuit: Indianapolis Motor Speedway (2.5 mile oval) Speedway, Ind.

2004 Winner: Buddy Rice (Honda) 138.518 mph average speed

Weather: Sunny, warm, 83 degrees F

Combined Practice Times:

Ps. Driver Team Engine Chassis Best Time Average Speed
1. Dan Wheldon Andretti Green Racing Honda Dallara 39.681seconds 226.808
2. Scott Sharp Delphi Fernandez Racing Honda Panoz


3. Helio Castroneves Team Penske Toyota Dallara 39.812 226.062
4. Tony Kanaan Andretti Green Racing Honda Dallara 39.888 225.629
5. Kosuke Matsuura Super Aguri Fernandez Honda Panoz 39.890 225.620
6. Dario Franchitti Andretti Green Racing Honda Dallara 39.947 225.296
7. Ryan Briscoe-R Target Chip Ganassi Toyota Panoz 39.952 225.266
8. Tomas Scheckter Panther Racing Chevrolet Dallara 39.966 225.189
9. Vitor Meira Rahal Letterman Racing Honda Panoz 40.147 224.172
10. Richie Hearn Sam Schmidt Motorsports Chevrolet Panoz 40.210 223.824
11. Danica Patrick-R Rahal Letterman Racing Honda Panoz 40.233 223.694
12. Buddy Lazier Byrd-Panther Racing Chevrolet Dallara 40.278 223.443
13. Bruno Junquiera Newman/Haas Racing Honda Panoz 40.295 223.350
14. Darren Manning Target Chip Ganassi Toyota Panoz 40.338 223.110
15. Buddy Rice Rahal Letterman Racing Honda Panoz 40.344 223.007
16. Bryan Herta Andretti Green Racing Honda Dallara 40.354 223.022
17. Sam Hornish Jr. Penske Racing Toyota Dallara 40.377 222.896
18. Sebastien Bourdais-R Newman/Haas Racing Honda Panoz 40.477 222.345
23. Roger Yasukawa Dreyer & Reinbold Honda Dallara 41.336 217.728
25. Adrian Fernandez Nunn Fernandez Racing Honda Panoz 48.875 184.140
NT Jeff Bucknum-R Dreyer & Reinbold Honda Dallara no time no speed

Wheldon & Sharp Lead Indy 500 Opening Day Practice

Already a three-time winner in 2005, Andretti Green Racing's Dan Wheldon led the field in opening day practice Tuesday as on-track action got underway for the 89th running of the Indianapolis 500. Wheldon, who set a new Indy Racing League record with three victories in the opening four races this season, posted a top speed of 226.808 mph on a resurfaced 2.5-mile Indianapolis Motor Speedway, already six miles an hour quicker than Buddy Rice's 2004 pole qualifying speed.

Delphi Fernandez Racing's Scott Sharp made it a 1-2 for Honda-powered drivers, with defending series champion Tony Kanaan running fourth, 2004 Indy 500 and IRL Rookie of the Year Kosuke Matsuura (fifth) and Dario Franchitti (sixth) making it five of the top six positions for Honda.

Danica Patrick, who led the eight-driver rookie field in traditional "Rookie Orientation" on Sunday and Monday, ran 11th today for Rahal Letterman Racing, with teammates Vitor Meira in ninth and Rice 15th. Veterans Roger Yasukawa and Adrian Fernandez ran limited laps today as they worked to set up new cars, while rookie Jeff Bucknum is scheduled to begin practice on Wednesday. Practice continues through Friday, running from noon through 6 p.m. EST. Qualifying for the pole position and first 11 starting positions takes place Saturday, with live television coverage on ABC/ESPN2/ESPN.

Dan Wheldon (#26 Jim Beam/Klein Tools Andretti Green Racing Honda) IndyCar Series points leader, fastest in practice today: "It's never easy, but this year's Indy 500 is shaping up to be very, very competitive. I can see at least 15 potential race winners in the field here. It's good to be fast, but this is only the first practice day. And I'm just happy to be back here; I love this place."